Attention West Virginia Beer Activists: Help the Small Breweries in Your State!

March 4, 2014

Dear AHA, BA and Support Your Local Brewery Members,

The West Virginia Craft Brewers Guild has requested that beer enthusiasts take action to oppose legislation detrimental to the state’s small and independent brewers and craft beer consumers.

Please read the following information provided by the West Virginia Craft Brewers Guild:

The West Virginia Craft Brewers Guild is asking you to contact members of the Senate Judiciary Committee to oppose House Bill 4549 and companion Senate Bill 597 which unfairly strengthen the ability of beer distributors to control a brewer’s brands, pricing, and other business decisions.

If passed, this legislation will hurt members of the West Virginia Craft Brewers Guild. While our members support alcohol regulation, these bills would give an unfair advantage to one segment of the beer industry at the expense of another.

Please contact the Committee members listed below as soon as possible since this legislation may be voted on at any time. It is most important to contact the Chairman and Vice Chairman, but please contact as many members as possible.

Please include the following points in your message:

  • I am a supporter of West Virginia’s craft brewers and I respectfully ask that you oppose House Bill 4549 and Senate Bill 597 currently before the Judiciary Committee.
  • The legislation deals with fundamental business issues and our state’s craft brewers were not part of the discussion when the bills were written or when the House passed HB 4549.
  • I am concerned that this legislation makes it more difficult for West Virginia’s small brewers to compete and grow in a challenging and competitive industry.
  • If changes are needed in West Virginia’s alcohol laws, please support a study to determine what changes are needed and provide a chance to all West Virginia businesses to participate in the process.

Thank you for your support.

Brian Arnett
Mountain State Brewing Co.
President, West Virginia Craft Brewers Guild

Lincoln H Wilkins, Jr. PhD
Blackwater Brewing Co.
Board Member, West Virginia Craft Brewers Guild

Members of the Senate Judiciary Committee

Chairman – Corey Palumbo (D – Kanawha, 17)
corey.palumbo@wvsenate.gov
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7880

Vice Chairman – Gregory A. Tucker (D – Nicholas, 11)
greg.tucker@wvsenate.gov
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7906

Robert D. Beach (D – Monongalia, 13)
bob.beach@wvsenate.gov
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7919

Sam Cann (D – Harrison, 12)
sam.cann@wvsenate.gov
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7904

Donald H. Cookman (D – Hampshire, 15)
donald.cookman@wvsenate.gov
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7980

Rocky Fitzsimmons (D – Ohio, 01)
rocky@fitzsimmonsfirm.com
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7918

Daniel J. Hall (D – Wyoming, 09)
daniel.hall@wvsenate.gov
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7807

Art Kirkendoll (D – Logan, 07)
art.kirkendoll@wvsenate.gov
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7857

Ronald F. Miller (D – Greenbrier, 10)
ronald.miller@wvsenate.gov
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7959

Herb Snyder (D – Jefferson, 16)
herb.snyder@wvsenate.gov
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7957

John R. Unger II (D – Berkeley, 16)
john.unger@wvsenate.gov
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7933

Bob Williams (D – Taylor, 14)
bob.williams@wvsenate.gov
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7995

Mitch Carmichael (R – Jackson, 04)
mitch.carmichael@wvsenate.gov
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7855

Bill Cole (R – Mercer, 06)
bill.cole@wvsenate.gov
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7843

Evan H. Jenkins (R – Cabell, 05)
evan.jenkins@wvsenate.gov
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7956

David C. Nohe (R – Wood, 03)
dcnohe@suddenlink.net
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7970

Chris Walters (R – Putnam, 08)
chris.walters@wvsenate.gov
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7866
________________________________________

Thanks for your support of West Virginia’s small and independent brewers.

Charlie Papazian
President
Brewers Association

Gary Glass
Director
American Homebrewers Association