Skip to content

Beer Styles

More Resources: Tasting Sheet Study Guide

Gluten Free

Barley, wheat, oats, rye and spelt commonly contain gluten, so look for other fermentables to be featured in gluten free beer. A beer (lager, ale or other) that is made from fermentable sugars, grains and converted carbohydrates. Ingredients do not contain gluten.

Category: Specialty Beers

Food Pairings

  • Varies
  • Varies
  • Varies

Glassware & Serving Temperature

Flute

Commercial Examples

Commercial Examples

Appearance

Color

Varies

Clarity

Varies

Carbonation (Visual)

Varies

Flavor/Aroma

Alcohol

Varies

Hop

Varies

Malt

Malted barley, wheat and other gluten-rich grains should not be perceived

Esters

Can be present

Phenols

Can be present.

Sensations

Body

Varies

Carbonation

Low to High

Finish Length

Varies

Attenuation

Varies

Ingredients

Hops

Varies

Malt

N/A

Water

Varies

Yeast

Lager or Ale

Other Styles you May Enjoy